Skip directly to content

Yoga with Jeff Miller

on Wed, 10/30/2013 - 10:32am

Donation Yoga Class

 

Sundays9AM  (Starting Nov. 10

Tuesdays  6PM  (Starting Nov. 12

 

Jeff Miller has a 16 year practice that includes exploring a wide range of styles and perspectives (Kundalini, Vinyassa, Iyengar, Bikram, Dynamic, Acro, Quantum, Astanga, and others)  He has been teaching for the last two years.  In order to deepen his practice and cultivate teaching skills and credentials, he is completing a 200 hour FYTT (Foundational yoga teacher training) through Urban Breath Yoga.

 

Practicing with Jeff, with any luck, should not be boring.  Classes are non repetitive because postures and sequences are inspired in the moment, coming from directly from the student’s requests and needs as well as Miller’s accumulated experience and ability to sense what is “going on”.  His classes have always been “open level” at this point, so you will be safe doing your own thing while at the same time gain from observing others.  Techniques for centering include pranayama, visualization, various asanas, and poorly timed comedy.  Further benefits of the practice include: gaining core support, strength, flexibility, suppleness, stamina, a calm and alert mind/body, a receptive and humorous disposition, and general elasticity throughout your whole system.

 

Miller holds an MFA in Sculpture from Pratt Institute, NYC.  As an extension of his thesis, he pursued acting and attended the renowned Michael Howard Studios where he studied (and continues to study) with Fay Simpson, practicing her “Lucid Body” technique.  Jeff also began practicing the art of improvisational comedy at Gotham City Improv as well as voice technique with Glen Holtzer.  He has studied “Spirals” technique with Irene Dowd via Movement Research.  Miller has also studied dance on scholarship here in STL at Washington University with a focus on contact improvisation. Click links below to learn more.

 

http://www.michaelhowardstudios.com/Michael_Howard_Studios/Home.html

http://www.movementresearch.org

http://www.philadelphiadance.org/classes/index.php?eID=8874

http://lucidbody.com/about/bios/fay-simpson-2/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mG4307TCmU

 
Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Apr 15 2014 .
Tuesday, November 12, 2013 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, November 19, 2013 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, November 26, 2013 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, December 3, 2013 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, December 10, 2013 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, December 17, 2013 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, December 24, 2013 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, December 31, 2013 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, January 7, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, January 14, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, January 21, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, January 28, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, February 4, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, February 11, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, February 25, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, March 4, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, March 11, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, March 18, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, March 25, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, April 1, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, April 15, 2014 - 6:00pm
Keywords: