Skip directly to content

Yoga with Jeff Miller

on Wed, 10/30/2013 - 10:30am

Donation Based class

 

Sundays9AM  (Starting Nov. 10

Tuesdays  6PM  (Starting Nov. 12

 

Jeff Miller has a 16 year practice that includes exploring a wide range of styles and perspectives (Kundalini, Vinyassa, Iyengar, Bikram, Dynamic, Acro, Quantum, Astanga, and others)  He has been teaching for the last two years.  In order to deepen his practice and cultivate teaching skills and credentials, he is completing a 200 hour FYTT (Foundational yoga teacher training) through Urban Breath Yoga.

 

Practicing with Jeff, with any luck, should not be boring.  Classes are non repetitive because postures and sequences are inspired in the moment, coming from directly from the student’s requests and needs as well as Miller’s accumulated experience and ability to sense what is “going on”.  His classes have always been “open level” at this point, so you will be safe doing your own thing while at the same time gain from observing others.  Techniques for centering include pranayama, visualization, various asanas, and poorly timed comedy.  Further benefits of the practice include: gaining core support, strength, flexibility, suppleness, stamina, a calm and alert mind/body, a receptive and humorous disposition, and general elasticity throughout your whole system.

 

Miller holds an MFA in Sculpture from Pratt Institute, NYC.  As an extension of his thesis, he pursued acting and attended the renowned Michael Howard Studios where he studied (and continues to study) with Fay Simpson, practicing her “Lucid Body” technique.  Jeff also began practicing the art of improvisational comedy at Gotham City Improv as well as voice technique with Glen Holtzer.  He has studied “Spirals” technique with Irene Dowd via Movement Research.  Miller has also studied dance on scholarship here in STL at Washington University with a focus on contact improvisation. Click links below to learn more.

 

http://www.michaelhowardstudios.com/Michael_Howard_Studios/Home.html

http://www.movementresearch.org

http://www.philadelphiadance.org/classes/index.php?eID=8874

http://lucidbody.com/about/bios/fay-simpson-2/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mG4307TCmU

 
Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Apr 20 2014 .
Sunday, November 10, 2013 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, November 17, 2013 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, November 24, 2013 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, December 1, 2013 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, December 8, 2013 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, December 15, 2013 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, December 22, 2013 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, December 29, 2013 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, January 5, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, January 12, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, January 19, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, January 26, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, February 2, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, February 9, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, February 16, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, February 23, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, March 2, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, March 9, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, March 16, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, March 23, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, March 30, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, April 6, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, April 13, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am
Sunday, April 20, 2014 - 9:00am to 10:15am